Annual General Meeting

Minutes of the 2015 AGM held in The Gingerman 10thMarch, 2015



President, John Cullen, Michael O’Sullivan, Stephen Kenny, Jim Conway, Don Cameron, Des Byrne, Brian Whelan, John Murray, Tommy Mulloy, Chris Kane, Jerry Carroll, Neil Murray, Bryan O’Higgins, Patrick Dowling, Dermot Soraghan.


Denis Kane, Des Donnelly, John Costello.


The Minutes of the AGM of April 3rd 2014 were read confirmed and signed.




The President said that the past year had been extremely busy with the committee meeting 11 times and undertaking a number of big projects to celebrate the 150th anniversary of the school.

Visit by An Taoiseach

The anniversary celebrations were launched on November 20th with the visit of An Taoiseach, Enda Kenny TD to the school. The guests included Bro. Edmund Garvey head of the Christian Brothers in Europe, Kevin Humphreys TD and many past and present teachers. The day was an outstanding success with An Taoiseach making a very generous speech and spending considerable time interacting with pupils and staff. He unveiled a bronze commemorative plaque, provided by the PPU, to mark the historic occasion.

Annual MASS

The second big event of the year was the annual Mass for deceased past pupils which was celebrated by Archbishop Dr. Diarmuid Martin on St. Andrew’s day, November 31st. The Mass was con celebrated by past pupils Monsignor Dan O’Connor, Canon Patsy Fagan, Fr. Eugene McCarthy (PPU Chaplin) and Fr. Michael Cullen. The Archbishop was very complimentary of the school for its contribution to the local community and the many pupils who passed through its doors in the past 150 years. There was a large attendance of pupils, teachers and past pupils and many attended the lunch afterwards in the Alexander hotel.

Row Person

Brian Dowling, RTE Political Reporter, was elected Row Person of the Year 2015 and he addressed a group of students in the school on Friday January 30th. He gave some very good advice about career choices and how job candidates should present themselves to best effect. Brian was presented with the P V Doyle Memorial Trophy at the annual dinner.

Annual Dinner

The Annual Dinner was held in the Westbury hotel on Saturday January 31st and attracted a record attendance. We had many special guests on the night including Ms. Bernadette Gallagher, daughter of past pupil, P V Doyle, founder of the Doyle Hotel Group. The dinner was a great success and was hugely enjoyed by all.

Archive Project

We started a big project early in the year to archive as much as possible of the photographs and other material which was found in a trunk, left behind by the Brothers when they vacated the Monastery and on the walls around the school. This has been completed and is now on DVD. We also set out to digitise all the school records and we were assisted by the Christian Brothers in Marino who hold the ledgers with the records from 1864 to 1928. We are now looking at the best way to digitally index these records to make them searchable. We have obtained quotations from an archiving company which is quite expensive as we are dealing with about 37,000 entries. We have applied for a grant to the Dept. of Arts, Heritage and Gaeltacht to cover software and hardware costs, but the major expense will be data entry. We are looking at ways of completing this in co-operation with the school which may include engaging a person under the Jobsbridge programme. The school had a very successful concert band in the seventies and eighties. This inspired many of the pupils of that time to pursue careers in music and many are still very prominent in music circles in Dublin and elsewhere. The committee felt that this was an important part of the history of the school and a Focus Group was set up by Des Byrne to produce a suitable record. This will soon be available and will be published on the website.

Gala Concert

The next big item on the celebration programme is a Gala Concert which will be held in St. Anne’s church, Dawson St. on Saturday, May 16th. We had obtained the RTE National Concert Orchestra, through the good offices of past pupil, Anthony Long, for a concert in St. Andrew’s church, Westland Row in early March. Even though the Orchestra agreed not to charge a fee they would have to charge in the region of €11,000 to defray various costs. The committee felt that this was not feasible despite very generous sponsorship on offer from Behaviour and Attitudes (through Des Byrne). The alternative concert was made possible with a lot of help from well-known soprano Kathryn Smith who sings with the St. Andrews Choir. The concert will feature the “Cor Unum” singers with Kathryn, Antoinette Heery, Paul Kelly and Carole O’Connor. Tickets are now available at €10 each and all the proceeds will go to the school. The final event of the celebratory programme will be an open night in the school at the invitation of Kate Byrne, Principal. This was originally planned for May or June but is likely to be put off until September due to the concert being moved from March to May. We are looking at the possibility of erecting a marquee in the yard and involving members of the school concert band which flourished in the school in the seventies and eighties. The “year” of celebration will be concluded by the production of a publication documenting all the events and making use of all the material now available. This will probably be in digital form but the committee would consider doing it in booklet form if sponsorship becomes available. The President thanked the committee for the hard work put in during the year and also the many sponsors without whom the PPU could not function.  


The Treasurer’s report followed and Michael O’Sullivan circulated a report which showed that the funds were in a very healthy condition with a balance in the bank of €6,221. This was up by about €2,000 on the previous year. The dinner showed a profit of €1,434 due to an exceptionally good raffle.


The following Officers and Committee were elected for 2013/2014: President: John Cullen (Proposed Jim Conway, seconded Michael O’Sullivan) Honorary Secretary: Jim Conway (Proposed Bryan O’Higgins, seconded John Cullen) Honorary Treasurer: Michael O’Sullivan (Proposed John Cullen, seconded Jim Conway) Committee: Des Byrne Patrick Dowling Jerry Carroll Brian Whelan Don Cameron Bryan O’Higgins Stephen Kenny stepped down from the committee after many years’ service. The President thanked him for his hard work over the years and wished him all the best. Stephen promised to continue to support the work of the committee especially the annual dinner. Chaplin: Fr. Eugene McCarthy


In accordance with the Constitution Jim Conway was elected Honorary Auditor.



Signed ………………………………. Date ……………………….